2005 NFL Playoff Bracket
Wild Card Divisional
Super Bowl
Wild Card

The NFL playoffs are not based on a pure bracket system. In the divisional playoffs, the No. 1 seed is assured of playing the lowest-seeded Wild Card survivor. There are no restrictions on intra-division games and the higher seed of any matchup will have home-field advantage.

AFC Tiebreakers

  • Cincinnati wins the AFC North over Pittsburgh with a better division record (5-1 to PIT's 4-2)
  • NFC Tiebreakers

  • Tampa Bay wins the NFC South over Carolina with a better division record (5-1 to 4-2)
  • Chicago earns the No. 2 seed over Tampa Bay with a better head-to-head record (CHI 1-0)
  • Tampa Bay earns the No. 3 seed over the N.Y. Giants with a better conference record (9-3 to 8-4)

  • Click here for the official tiebreaking procedures.

    AFC Teams Eliminated

  • Baltimore (Week 13); Buffalo (Week 14); Cleveland (Week 13); Houston (Week 12); Kansas City (Week 17); Miami (Week 15); N.Y. Jets (Week 13); Oakland (Week 13); San Diego (Week 16); Tennessee (Week 13)
  • NFC Teams Eliminated

  • Atlanta (Week 16); Arizona (Week 14); Dallas (Week 17); Detroit (Week 14); Green Bay (Week 13); Minnesota (Week 16); New Orleans (Week 13); Philadelphia (Week 14); San Francisco (Week 12); St. Louis (Week 14)